Sustainable Motivations

For this week, I am going over the Sustainable Motivations pattern! To me, this pattern was both a bit confusing and also impactful at first! I felt that I had an idea of the type of guidance it was trying to show me, but at the same time, I felt that parts of it were a bit conflicting or irrelevant. That is, until I went ahead and tried it out in practice.

Specifically, the pattern calls for writing down fifteen (15) things that motivate you, then write another five (5) after waiting for a bit. Then, compare how different the two list are and what percentage of them are composed of external sources of motivation. Then, from both list, take the final five (5) that most motivate you.

From what I understood, it was trying to get you to differentiate between sources of motivation that are from your own self vs motivation that is pushed on by others, and also, ensure that the reason you continue to pursue programming is healthy. As it says right in the name, it is important to have sustainable motivations.

For example, if someone has, an ‘unsustainable’ motivation, they will be more prone to burn out, or even quit, but if someone has sustainable motivations, then even if they encounter difficulties in their work, project, or anything similar, they will continue to keep moving forward. This is obviously crucial, but the one part that I found a bit confusing at first was that I didn’t realize that external sources of motivation can also be fine as well as internal. I had assumed that all external sources were bad, but after writing down my list, I realized that, well, it’s okay to be motivated by those around you. It would be important to always have self confidence in yourself and it is important to continue coding because it is fun, or exciting, but there is no reason that you cannot have a healthy motivation because you want to follow in so and so’s footsteps because you respect them. From what I gathered, the pattern is not about internalization, but about a healthy balance of motivations to fight against burn out and stagnation!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started