Unleash your enthusiasm!

As I was going through the patterns, I came across the Unleash your enthusiasm. At first, I didn’t consider it too much, and took it at face value, and as it was explaining the pattern, I was frankly confused. From my perspective, it appeared like the author was trying to curb a bit of enthusiasm rather than nurture it, but there is actually more nuance to the whole pattern than it seems. Rather than the pattern being all about your own enthusiasm, I think that this pattern has much more connections with the team aspect.

The pattern does briefly go over this, but if you’re anything like me, it might have flown over your head, but I believe that this key fact is very important to processing the pattern. Mainly, if team morale is low, or if they aren’t as accepting, there are other ways to unleash your enthusiasm without compromising the team dynamic! I believe that out of the few patterns I’ve gone over so far, this pattern is the most grey! There is no definite answer to each and every team that you might join in, because there is just no ‘correct’ way to deal with people as a whole! It is very important to adjust your own standards, and thus, adjust your own enthusiasm on a case by case basis! Some people might be more receptive, while others might not be as receptive, but either way, it is important to find out beneficial ways to unleash your enthusiasm.

The pattern has a small action portion, but I believe that there are much more ways to show your enthusiasm! I think that if your team is not as receptive, you can show your enthusiasm by finding peers, or other like-minded communities! And if your team does welcome it, then there is no harm in showing the interest you have! Being able to find healthy ways to channel your enthusiasm will benefit not just yourself, but the whole team! As it even states, unleashing your enthusiasm will ensure that new perspectives aren’t missed, and with plenty of questions, everyone will grow! Staying silent would only be a detriment, because if you spot something that others might not, or if you keep questions to yourself, you won’t be able to reinforce ideas and also actively prevent yourself from learning! 


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started